top of page
Featured Posts

FASTING TODAY

The African church is big on fasting. I remember one seminar there was discussion about it. I said that I thought that children shouldn’t fast. My reasoning was that they were growing and needed the nutrition. My African colleagues were astounded. “Why not?” Everyone fasts.

I did put in the principle that when one is not well, they should not fast. Nutrition is important for healing.

The difference between fasting and not having enough food is that a fast is voluntary. One chooses to fast even though there is food. That is why I have the children in the drama asking if there is enough food for supper. There is, but Father is not going to be eating.

We do not gain merit with God by fasting. That is why father says, “We don’t fast to get God to hear us. We fast to get us to hear God.”

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page